Classification is a structure for competition in sport.

Disabled athletes use classes identified through their level of impairment.

Classifiers determine whether an athlete is eligible and grouped into classes for their sport.

The International Paralympic committee (IPC) recognises six different impairment groups. These are:

  • Amputees
  • Athletes with cerebral palsy
  • Blind or visually impaired athletes
  • Spinal cord injured athletes
  • Athletes with an intellectual/learning disability
  • Other athletes (les autres) with a physical impairment, who do not fit into any of the above five groups

LimbPower’s partners the English Federation of Disability Sport have created a fact sheet on the IPC Classification use. Click here to download this factsheet.

Useful Links:

Introduction to IPC Classifications

BBC A-Z of classification